Florida laws require drivers to have $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL). It should allow drivers quicker access to compensation when they suffer injuries in a car accident. Your insurance provider should compensate you for medical costs, regardless of who is at fault. They will also pay a percentage of the income you lost while recovering from the car accident. You must file the claim within two weeks of the car accident.
The problem is that car accidents can cause serious damage to the victim and vehicle. Your coverage may not be enough. If another driver is liable for the accident, you should look to them and their insurance provider for compensation.
Insurance companies can undervalue your personal injury claim
Insurance companies also provide liability insurance coverage to individuals. If the insured individual was negligent or acted wrongfully and it caused another harm, their insurance company should compensate the victim. However, insurance companies lose money when they pay a victim’s personal injury claims. You might have to fight for damages, even when the policyholder is so obviously at fault.
An insurance company can hire an insurance adjuster to look for ways to devalue or deny your claims. Here are the different tactics an insurance company can use to reduce the amount they must pay in a settlement:
- The insurance company will pressure you to accept a quick and early settlement offer
- The insurance company can use Florida’s pure comparative negligence laws against you and shift the blame
- The insurance company can claim your injuries were not caused by the accident
- The insurance company can find ways and use a medical lien to lower your medical costs on paper
- The insurance company can also delay claims and use the statute of limitations laws in their favor
- The insurance company can also downplay your injuries
Remember, if you are the claimant, the insurance company is not your friend. You should not sign or agree to anything without fully understanding the legal repercussions.
Never settle for less
It might be enticing to settle on the initial offer immediately, but your claims may be worth much more. These companies have the means to fully compensate you according to the coverage of the policyholder. Besides, if the negligent driver does not have the insurance coverage applicable to your case, you can also pursue a personal injury lawsuit against them. The best-case scenario is that their insurance provider will pay the maximum coverage, and the driver will cover the rest of the damages you suffered.